Homesbook Factoring McGouldrick's Pool and Sports Bar

Clyde v Stranraer in IRN-BRU Cup

The Bully Wee have been given a home match against Stranraer in the First Round of the IRN-BRU Cup, following this afternoon’s draw at Summerlee Museum of Scottish Industrial Life in Coatbridge.

The tie is due to take place on Tuesday 15th or Wednesday 16th August, with final details to be confirmed later.


Aberdeen Colts v St. Johnstone Colts
Dundee Colts v Alloa Athletic
Stirling Albion v Montrose
Ross County Colts v Forfar Athletic
Dundee United v Cowdenbeath
Formartine United v Heart of Midlothian Colts
East Fife v Peterhead
Stenhousemuir v Cove Rangers
Raith Rovers v Brora Rangers
Dunfermline Athletic v Arbroath
Hibernian Colts v Elgin City
Buckie Thistle v Brechin City
Dumbarton v Rangers Colts
Clyde v Stranraer
Hamilton Accies Colts v Edinburgh City
Albion Rovers v Spartans
Motherwell Colts v Queen’s Park
St. Mirren v East Kilbride
Partick Thistle Colts v Stirling University
Queen of the South v Airdrieonians
Kilmarnock Colts v Berwick Rangers
Annan Athletic v Celtic Colts
East Stirlingshire v Ayr United
Greenock Morton v Livingston

The 2017-18 IRN-BRU Cup will feature an improved format and increased prize money, in addition to two new participants.

The revised format of the IRN-BRU Cup for the season ahead sees a reduction in the number of rounds from seven to six, with the competition kicking off in mid-August and leading up to the Final being played on Saturday 24 or Sunday 25 March, 2018.

While like-for-like prize money comparisons with the 2016/17 IRN-BRU Cup are not possible, as this year’s format involves two additional clubs but one round fewer than last season, the overall amount available for prize money is up by 9%, from £308,000 to £335,200.

In addition, clubs travelling overseas will each receive a £5,000 contribution to their travel costs per overseas game, which is a 25% increase on last season’s figure.

As recently announced, Bray Wanderers and Sligo Rovers will join the 2017-18 IRN-BRU Cup along with the Northern Irish and Welsh teams (Crusaders, Linfield, The New Saints and Gap Connah’s Quay) at the Second Round stage.

SPFL Chief Executive Neil Doncaster said: “Following the success of the new format of the IRN-BRU Cup in its inaugural season, we have worked to further improve the competition for clubs and supporters.

“By increasing prize money, removing one round and introducing more new teams to the competition, we believe this year’s IRN-BRU Cup will be stronger, more competitive and even more exciting. We look forward to the First Round Draw next Tuesday and wish all clubs the very best of luck.”