Homesbook Factoring McGouldrick's Pool and Sports Bar

Forfar Athletic 2-1 Clyde

A poor week for The Bully Wee continued as Forfar Athletic came from behind to record a victory thanks to a last minute goal this evening at Station Park.

Danny Lennon made three changes to the team that took on Peterhead on Saturday, with David Wilson, Jack Thomson and Michael McGlinchey coming in for David Mitchell, Marky Munro and Lewis Jamieson. 

Clyde took the lead in the 11th minute when Kevin Nicoll won the ball just outside the box and slipped in David Goodwillie, who rolled a shot across Daniel Hoban and into the back of the net. 

Goodwillie had another chance shortly after when he got on the end of Ally Love’s ball behind the Forfar defence and tried to take it round Hoban, but the ‘keeper was able to claim the ball. 

The Loons were level ten minutes before the interval after Daniel Scally picked up a loose ball outside the area and from a wide angle curled a fine effort over the head of David Wilson into the corner of the net. 

Goodwillie had another couple of efforts shortly after half-time, first hitting a tame effort at Hoban, and then dragging a shot past the post from a good position.

Mark Lamont also saw his shot from distance held by Hoban, whilst Goodwillie put a header from close range just over the bar after a Marky Munro cross.

The Bully Wee would suffer a double blow in stoppage time. Munro, who picked up an earlier caution for kicking the ball away a fraction of a second after referee Duncan Williams blew for a harsh foul, was then given an even softer yellow card followed by a red for an apparent foul, as the match entered 90 minutes.

The hosts took full advantage of the gap on the right-hand side of Clyde’s defence and launched an attack which resulted in a low cross finding Scally at the back post, and he slotted home to give The Loons all three points in the second minute of stoppage time.

If you watched today’s match and are a CIC owner with a website account, you can vote for your top three performers in the Man of the Match vote.