Homesbook Factoring McGouldrick's Pool and Sports Bar

Queen’s Park 1-1 Clyde (5-4 pens)

The Bully Wee’s Betfred Cup campaign ended without a win, as Queen’s Park netted a late equaliser before winning the resultant penalty shoot-out this afternoon.

Danny Lennon made four changes to the side from Wednesday’s defeat at Firhill, bringing Chris McStay, Mark Lamont and Darren Smith back into the starting line-up, along with Ross Lyon for the first time since last October.

Clyde controlled the majority of the first half and had their first opportunity when Kristoffer Syvertsen found space in the box, but he tooo too long to get his shot away and the effort was blocked by a defender.

The deadlock was broken midway through the half after Mark Lamont played Darren Smith in behind the Spiders defence. The forward was through on goal and poked the ball past Willie Muir from a tight angle, beating him at his near post.

The lead was almost doubled moments later when Lyon and Syvertsen put the home defence under pressure and the Norwegian was presented with a chance on the edge of the box, but volleyed narrowly wide.

There was not much excitement in the second half but Clyde looked for a killer second goal late on and Lamont released David Goodwillie clear through. Assistant referee Stuart Hodge however made an abysmal decision and flagged for offside, despite Goodwillie being onside by several yards.

Queen’s Park found an equaliser with four minutes remaining after a deep free-kick into the box was headed into his own net by Craig Howie.

Clyde ‘keeper David Mitchell made two good saves in the penalty shoot-out but Declan Fitzpatrick then saw his effort saved by Muir, which allowed Ciaran Summers to score and give The Spiders a bonus point after a 5-4 spot kick victory.

If you were at today’s match and are a CIC owner with a website account, you can vote for your top three performers in the Man of the Match vote.

In this this weekend’s other match in Group F, Hamilton Accies came from behind to record a 3-2 victory over Airdrieonians.

Partick Thistle  4  3  1  0  0  3  10
Hamilton Academical  4  2  2  0  1  3  9
Airdrieonians  4  1  1  2  1  -1  5
Queen’s Park  4  0  3  1  2  -1  5
CLYDE  4  0  1  3  0  -4  1