Homesbook Factoring Caplan

Martin Named Player of the Year

Rutherglen Town Hall was the venue last night for a new and somewhat different concept to the club’s annual awards function. For the first time, the event saw an integration of the official Clyde FC Player of the Year awards, alongside the annual presentations by the Castlemilk Branch and Executive Club and the popular Hall of Fame induction.

New awards also made their debut, namely Goal of the Season, Youth & Community Coach award and a Supporter Recognition award. 

In addition, a special presentation was made to acknowledge the Clyde career of physio Iain McKinlay, who recently announced his departure from the club after 13 years of service.

The Bully Wee’s first choice goalkeeper Alan Martin was a big winner on the night, taking the main Player of the Year trophy and another two awards.

Clyde legend Brian Ahern was quick to praise a ‘beautiful evening’ following his induction to the club’s Hall of Fame, which included heartfelt tributes from former teammates Dom Sullivan and Jim Dempsey.

The full list of award recipients is as follows:-

  • Player of the Year: Alan Martin
  • Young Player of the Year: Scott Ferguson
  • Goal of the Season: Brian McQueen
  • Castlemilk Branch Player of the Year: Alan Martin
  • Executive Club Player of the Year: Alan Martin
  • Youth & Community Coach Award: Stephen Muckalt
  • Supporter Recognition Award: Davie Paterson
  • Special Recognition Award: Iain McKinlay
  • Hall of Fame Inductee: Brian Ahern

To see pictures of all the award winners, view the Gallery of the event.

Event organiser, club director Gordon Nisbet said: “I thought the new format really worked well. The delivery was slick in presentation, informative, personal and with the odd bit of humour thrown in.

“As with any event of this nature, the amount of voluntary time selflessly given by Clyde minded individuals really should not go unnoticed and, on behalf of the club, I would like to thank the following for their personal input into the presentation that made the evening such a success; joint hosts of the night, club historian Gordon ‘Syd’ Sydney, club chaplain Rev John McKinnon and the unheralded Clyde media team of Graham Forrest, Andrew Muir and James Turnbull.”

Gordon also added a further thanks to all of the staff of Rutherglen Town Hall for their huge contribution to the successful evening.