Homesbook Factoring McGouldrick's Pool and Sports Bar

Clyde FC Hall of Fame

The Clyde FC Hall of Fame officially opens on Friday night, with five inaugural inductees being entered. All will be in attendance at the Sportsmans Dinner, where their entry will be recognised.

The Dunn Family
Chairman John McMahon brought William P. Dunn onto the Clyde FC Board in the mid-1920s and from that time on there has been at least one Dunn involved with Clyde FC. Billy Dunn, like his father, rose to be Chairman, whilst daughter Frances’ involvement is legendary. Also in the mix are Willie’s nephews Frank, currently a Director, and Gerry, a Director for fourteen years.
Davie Laing
Davie joined Clyde in September 1954 and immediately became a fixture in the Clyde first team. Clyde won the Scottish Cup Final that season and Davie was generally accepted as man-of-the-match in both games.
Tommy McCulloch
Tommy joined the club in 1957 and stayed until 1972. His first season saw Clyde win the Scottish Cup for the third time. His consistency over fifteen seasons makes Tommy our post-War goalkeeper with the most appearances for the club.
Pat Nevin
Pretty much an instant hit with all at Shawfield on breaking into the first team. Pat entertained us all for two seasons before moving on to play mainly in England, with Chelsea, Everton and Tranmere, and earn himself 28 Scotland caps along the way.
George Herd
George Herd’s first season witnessed, amongst other events, Clyde winning the Scottish Cup and George gaining his first Scotland cap. He stayed at Shawfield a further three seasons, gaining another four full international caps in that time.
The dinner, taking place at the Marriot Hotel in Glasgow, has secured ex-Scottish Internationalist Murdo McLeod and former snooker referee Hugh Brown to entertain the guests.
Last-minute places are still available, with tickets priced at £50. If you would like to book a seat, please contact the commercial department (01236451511 / as soon as possible.