Clyde FC
Homes Book Factoring Whitemoss Dental Practice

CFC Owners

Sign Up Log In

Legends Match Teams Announced

Thu, 13th Mar 2014 9:56pm

The club is pleased to announce the team line-ups for the end of season Legends Match, to be played at Broadwood on Sunday 27th April.

Since the last update, three more additions have been made to the impressive pool of players. Billy Beattie, who featured in over 100 matches for The Bully Wee in the 1970s, will be joined by Irish international goalkeeper Pat Bonner. Pat has been assisting the club over the past couple of years with coaching support and was keen to pledge his support to the event.

Beattie and Bonner will be joined by another special appearance, as long-standing club director & secretary John Taylor will fulfil a lifetime ambition to play for his beloved Clyde.

Event organiser, Bobby Gracey said: "I understand John is currently in intensive training for the match and club insiders have advised me that he has guaranteed to Mags, our kit manager, that he does not intend to get his strip dirty or a hair out of place whilst living the dream!

"Hopefully a good crowd will attend on the evening to cheer on our former favourites and all of the fans participating in this great occasion. Personally, I am looking forward to witnessing how matchday announcer Fin McKay will have Pat Nevin in his pocket!"

The line-ups are as follows:

First Half First Half
1.Pat Bonner / David Millar  1.David Wylie
2.John McCone 2.Fin McKay
3.Craig McEwan 3.Keith Knox (Capt)
4.Ian Spittal (Capt) 4.Stevie Morton
5.Scott Russell 5.James Donaldson
6.Andy McClay 6.Mark McLaughlin
7.Paul Paterson 7.John Taylor / Gary Ballantyne / David Dalziel
8.Richie McCusker 8.John McAuley
9.Eddie Annand 9.Pat Keogh
10.Bobby Gracey 10.Dom Jack
11.Pat Nevin  11.Darren Scobbie
Second Half Second Half
1.John Carolan 1.Duncan McClymont 
2.Jim Thomson 2.Lee Sharp (Capt)
3.Alan Rennie  3.Ian McCallum
4.Chris McGhee 4.Iain Swinburne
5.Scott Davidson 5.David Ashton
6.Paul Hay (Capt) 6.Alex Murray
7.Billy Beattie  7.Jamie Mitchell
8.Paul Ronald  8.Lee Foad
9.Brian Carrigan 9.Stevie Convery
10.Phil Caplan  10.Alan Grant
11.Richard Scobbie 11.Andrew Clark